The Seed

I give you the seed to contemplate for Haiku.

Old man’s beard is a clematis that trails up streamside shrubs among the prairies.  The fuzzy plumes on tiny seeds ensure wide dispersal as the November winds kick up.   Plants use so many “clever” means to disperse seeds the array can be bewildering.  There are wings, parachutes, explosions, water dispersal, burs that tangle in animal hair and land far away.  Some are covered by berries to ensure they are eaten and transported by birds or animals, then dropped in some opportune spot for growth.  Some seeds have even evolved to require scarification by gastric juices, freezing, or rough sanding in spring streams before they will germinate.  Lodgepole pines have special cones that must go through fire before they will release the next generation to the earth.

While we have terminated Haiku Monday as competition, I am offering this site for anyone who wishes to drop in a haiku for fun.  Please use the comment bar at the upper left.  You need not give a real email address – WordPress cant’ tell, so you can just fill in the blanks with something.  Or log in as your Blog self as you prefer.

Haiku is formed using the 5-7-5 syllable structure.  The best haiku use a seasonal reference and a cutting word or punctuation (see Kigo( seasonal reference), an’ Kireji). 

 

 

16 Responses to “The Seed”

  1. Speaking of animals dispersing seeds..
    I think my dog has dragged in every single catkin that dropped off the many oak trees that surround our house.

    Looking up, I spy
    Swaying catkins in the oak..
    Then they drop at once.

  2. Welcome Foam. I am glad you stopped by. Spring brings fun, trials, and discoveries. Hopefully a few others will also stop in.

    Our migrants are really showing up now. We went for a long (for me anyway) hike today, and when we got home I discovered that along with the black-headed grosbeaks and Bullock’s orioles, the lazuli bunting had just arrived! I love jeweled surprises.

    The hike was very nice, through a bunch of early spring flowers along a canyon trail to a local falls that really gets ripping during snowmelt. Pasque flower, sugar bowls, buttercup, balsamroot, whiskbroom parsley, draba, alyssum, cushion phlox, rock saxifrage, snowball saxifrage, shooting star, Oregon grape, prickly currant, blue mustard, yellow violet, windmills, and mertensia bluebells, to name a few. The 3 mile round trip was OK on my new hip – not so nice on the other original-issue one. Not bad, though for 6 weeks out on a total hip replacement.

  3. Serendipity: Thanks for your initiative, and glad you’re healing. I had some parts replaced last year, about 20 years too early. Science is an amazing thing.

    Given your most ironic theme, I’ll be back . . . especially in a two-week window.

    Thanks.
    czar

  4. Nice to see you Czar. I appreciate your rare appearance. As others have said, you have always added great zingers to HM.

    Yeah, technology may well keep me walking. Mine seem to be a couple years later than I should have waited, but also seemingly 20 years too early. Bad genetics, apparently. I still need more repairs, but with the current results am hopeful.

  5. Beide

    the truth of the seed
    not an object, an idea
    spring, not a time ~ life

  6. Good evening Serendipity,

    If becoming the bionic woman gets you out and about so be it, you know it’s where you want to be.

    Our migratory season seems to be back to normal, except for the Canadian Geese that will not leave. They’ve stopped migrating and are becoming a water quality issue. Roosting in small coves with little water flow, it increases the bacteria level and causes fish kills. They have expanded the hunting season, but I don’t think it’s enough. We’re their only real predator.

    My seed for thought:

    Acorn becomes Oak
    Tyranny is freedom seed
    Grows liberty tree

  7. Welcome Doom. Thought provoking. Hope your recent trip went well.

    Nice Karl. Truly tyranny begets freedom fighters. I need to get the parts fixed not just for recreation, but also in case I ever need to stand and fight. Right now I could not carry a running battle, but would have to take a stand whether in personal defense or in other circumstances. The repair list is a little long, but I’ll shortly be going forward on the next one.

  8. It’s good to read that your recovery is going so well!

  9. Gracefully it bows..
    Dappled in dew, tender sprouts
    Glisten in the sun

    I do like Doom’s and Karl’s philosophical take on the seed..

    Speaking of oaks .. We had an oak here in town which possibly grew for three centuries. Several years ago it had to be felled. However, from its branches Tories were hung way back in the day..

  10. Nice Foam.

    And to think such a tender little sprout could turn into a massive 300 year old oak such as you describe. Interestingly the sentence I just wrote describes a symbolic clay sculpture I once made. A man sitting on the ground, cradling a young sprout between his hands. while leaning against a huge stump from an ancient dead tree. I wonder whatever happened to that. Hadn’t thought of it in years.

    Speaks to Doom’s renewal and your lovely haiku above.

  11. poem from parents
    written in code to windsong
    released – doubtful hope

  12. Hi Everyone,

    Thanks for dropping by and helping with Haiku Monday withdrawal. Some nice efforts have showed up.

    Hope everyone had a nice holiday weekend.

    Do we have any volunteers who want to host the next Haiku Week Drop-In? We need a new theme and a place to play.

    • Good afternoon Serendipity,

      Hope you had a fun weekend. I had to work Saturday and part of Sunday. But I was off all Monday. I’ll put up a topic: Water. Hope to see you there.

  13. Water it is then, Karl. I’ll take the week after Karl, btw.

  14. Hrmm? I thought the parcels were two weeks? No worries, I’m as flexible as a cannonball… wait… Never mind. I’ll adjust if it’s weekly.

    • Hi,

      Thanks, Karl, for throwing a theme out there. Good one, also.

      Doom, not sure if we were always doing 2 weeks, I thought it was just extending it around a busy holiday weekend, and a new routine. But whatever, I guess anyone can play on whatever schedule suits them.

      Foam, thanks for stepping up next.

      Great weekend, lots of wildlife, nice weather. My casual species list has 71 species of birds and other wildlife. The only large mammals we missed seeing that are there were mountain lion and bobcat, both of which are largely nocturnal and very secretive.

Leave a Reply

